Questions & answers

Questions & answers

What is Tampere3?

Tampere3 is the working title for the new higher education community in Tampere. The community includes the University of Tampere (UTA), Tampere University of Technology (TUT) and Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK).

How and when does the merger happen?

On 1 January 2019, the University of Tampere and Tampere University of Technology merge to create the new foundation-based Tampere University, which also becomes TAMK’s main owner. The activities, personnel, students and assets of the two universities will be transferred to the new Tampere University. The new university will become the main owner of TAMK in February 2018, when the City of Tampere assigns its shares, 87 per cent in the university of applied sciences, to Tampere University Foundation.

What is Tampere University Foundation?

The purpose of Tampere University Foundation (TUF) is to operate as the new foundation-based Tampere University in a manner laid down in the Universities’ Act that will become effective in the beginning of 2019. Tampere University Foundation was established in April 2017 and its first Board was appointed in June 2017 by the boards of the University of Tampere and Tampere University of Technology in accordance with the rules of the foundation. As stipulated in the Implementation Act that came into force in December 2017, the boards of the two universities appointed the TUF Board as the Transitional Board for the new university.