Transitional Board appointed to the new Tampere University


The new foundation-based Tampere University will be established in 2019 through a merger between the University of Tampere and Tampere University of Technology. Their Boards have now appointed the current Board of Tampere University Foundation (TUF) as the new university’s transitional Board.

The legislative proposals confirmed in December 2017 stipulated that the Boards of Tampere University of Technology and the University of Tampere are to appoint a transitional Board for the new university, so that the necessary decisions can be made before 2019. The transitional Board will, among other things, appoint the first president of the new university.

On 18 December, the Board of Tampere University of Technology decided to appoint TUF’s current Board as the transitional Board. The University of Tampere made a similar decision on 30 January.

TUF’s Board was established in April 2017 and comprises the following members:

Chairwoman Marja Makarow, PhD, Professor, Director, Biocenter Finland
Vice Chairman J.T. Bergqvist, DTech, Group Chairman and CEO, Huurre Group
Liisa Husu, D.Soc.Sc., Professor, Örebro University
Lauri Lyly, Technician, Mayor, City of Tampere
Risto Nieminen, DTech, Academic, Professor Emeritus, Aalto University
Pekka Puustinen, PhD, CCO, Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company
Linda Soikkeli, PhD, Senior Specialist, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

The first Board of Tampere University will be appointed by a multimember governing body of the new university.

Text: Katja Ayres
Photo: Jonne Renvall