Jaakko Puhakka appointed as President of TUT


The Board of the TTY Foundation has announced the appointment of Professor Jaakko Puhakka as President of Tampere University of Technology (TUT) for a term running from 1 September 2018 to 31 December 2018.

Dr Jaakko Puhakka, Professor of Environmental Bioengineering, has worked as a researcher, professor and head of department at TUT since 1983 and also has seven years of international teaching and research experience. Puhakka has served as the Vice President for Research of TUT in 2014 and as the Academic Rector of the University of Eastern Finland in 2015-2017. He returned from the University of Eastern Finland to professorship at TUT.

Puhakka takes over from President Mika Hannula, who is leaving TUT to take up a new appointment on 1 September.

Puhakka’s term as TUT President will end when the new Tampere University, created through a merger between TUT and the University of Tampere, begins its operations on 1 January 2019. The term of the Rector of the current University of Tampere, Liisa Laakso, will end at the same time. The new university will also assume majority ownership of Tampere University of Applied Sciences, and together the higher education institutions will form Finland’s second-largest higher education community that covers the broadest spectrum of academic disciplines in the country. Professor Mari Walls has been appointed as the President of the new Tampere University.